DIY brewing

I have wanted a digital hydrometer for some time now. It would primarily be useful to know the gravity of the beer to know when fermentation is complete, or if I wanted to leave a couple of points unfermented, depending on the style. I don’t like taking samples and using my standard hydrometer – it wastes the beer, it takes time, and it compromises the beer hygiene. Imagine just being able to quickly look on the laptop or smartphone what the gravity is.

In the last couple of years I know of two products that can be bought, namely The BeerBug and the Tilt.

These both look like great products and I would be thrilled to have one. But these cost a reasonable amount and I figure I could probably do it myself for cheap.

I had thought for a while to base it on measuring the change pressure…

View original post 341 more words

