My sabbatical is coming to an end and I will soon re-join the workforce in my full capacity as Computer Scientist.   I learned a lot during these last 9 months — I even acquired a certificate in start-up brewing from Brewlab (a course I highly recommend).

So it’s time to put it all together.

It’s a big subject, therefore I split it as follows

  1. Introduction
  2. Equipment
    1. Mashing
    2. pH Meters
  3. Preparation
    1. Recipe Formulation – Grist Composition
    2. Recipe Formulation – Hopping Schedule
  4. Mashing
  5. Boiling and Cooling
  6. Fermentation
  7. Bottling

It surely won’t be comprehensive enough to equal the amount of literature that is out there, especially the brilliant works by Narziss, Esslinger and Kunze – but it summarises my current state of knowledge and should give very good results for the dedicated home brewer.

In a few years time I’ll probably look back at these writings and laugh at some of my wrong assumptions or blatant mistakes.  Nevertheless, the Beers I produced using this method are quite good and pretty close to the originals I had in mind (which is –goes without saying– Augustiner Edelstoff and the Hofbräu Oktoberfest – my two favorite Bavarian brews!).

IMG_2410

