*Ugh*  So I got hold of the textbook for Brewing technology:  “Abriss der Bierbrauerei” by Ludwig Narziss.   It’s very dense (over 400 pages), no illustrations and typeset in double columns.  Ouch!   It’s a great book though.   It has very thorough discussions of all the techniques used in making professional beer. Very thorough. It’s a textbook.   What struck me is that there are subtypes for each decoction mash, yielding slightly different beer profiles and yields.

Maybe it’s time to just try them all out for one constant recipe to compare the results.   Thinking of doing this with Wheat beers first since they are ready quicker and I am running low on supplies for my own consumption.  I’ll do the same with lager yeasts later, but I better have the temperature controlled fermenter ready first…

